Asked to see cellphone

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asked to see cellphone

I have a question no one can seem to answer and a lot of coworkers are asking. Do you have to let an official see your cellphone if they get on the engine and ask to see it? I've heard several say it's a violation of privacy act. I'm not sure as I'm not a lawyer just a dumbass engineer! Personally I turn mine off so it's not a problem but if you are asked and you refuse can you get in trouble? NOBODY seems to know!

Dear PapaBoy60 - Without doing any research, I would say that you can deny the request but could suffer a temporary (that could escalate) suspension. With terrorism as one of the factors that interplay in Federally regulated transportation, I believe the cell phone owner would be hard-pressed to assert a right of privacy defense. This would be especially true if it involved an Engineer on duty though the defense is not that strong for other classes of workers. Just my opinion as I, again, have not researched the issue.
    Steve Gordon
    Gordon, Elias & Seely, L.L.P.
    FELA Lawyer
    FELA Lawyer Blog
    Serving Injured Railroad Employees Nationwide
    Call for a FELA Lawyer 24/7/365
    800-773-6770

Comment

Originally posted by FELA FELLA View Post
      Dear PapaBoy60 - Without doing any research, I would say that you can deny the request but could suffer a temporary (that could escalate) suspension. With terrorism as one of the factors that interplay in Federally regulated transportation, I believe the cell phone owner would be hard-pressed to assert a right of privacy defense. This would be especially true if it involved an Engineer on duty though the defense is not that strong for other classes of workers. Just my opinion as I, again, have not researched the issue.