This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Harassment at work for posting at YardLimits

This has been an issue before, and sometimes happens occasionally. Any advice for members that seem to be getting harassed at work for posting here at YardLimits?

Post At Will

"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances." First Amendment U.S. Constitution

The above First Amendment applied only to the United States Congress making laws. In the in the 20th century, the Supreme Court held that the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Am. U.S. Constitution applied the limitations of the First Amendment to the states and to local governments.

Before I go on, I want to say that I am not a labor lawyer and I am not familiar with all the specific languages in the Collective Bargaining agreements, Union agreements or the Railroad Labor Act [RLA] with the companies, so if there is something on point which talks to the rights, if any, on the part of the railroads to chill the right of free expression (be it live or on a web site), I would gladly ask that they post it here as I would like to know what it is. However, Congress, empowered through the Commerce Clause of the Article 1, Section 8, Clause 3 of the United States Constitution, has spoken to certain types of harassment from the railroads to the workers in the exercise of free speech. Specifically, they enacted 45 U.S.C. Section 60 which states,in pertinent part, as follows:

Title 45. Railroads
    Chapter 2.
    Liability for Injuries to Employees

60. Penalty for suppression of voluntary information incident to accidents; separability